Some pages on this site require cookies to function and we also use cookies to see how visitors are using the site. Read more about cookies, how we use them and how to delete/block them.
By continuing to browse you are agreeing to the use of cookies on this site.

< back to home

Saturday 17 May, 7.45pm
St John's Smith Square
The Year 1714 (Part I):
Theatre and Concert Room

Rachel Podger violin
Arte dei Suonatori
Aureliusz Goliński violin & director


Handel Ouverture and Suite from Rinaldo
Vivaldi Violin Concerto in D minor, Op.4 No.8, RV 249
Corelli Concerto grosso in F major, Op.6 No.6
Geminiani Concerto grosso in D major (after Corelliís Op.5 No.1)
F. M. Veracini Violin Sonata in E minor, Op.1 No.6
Handel Concerto grosso in B flat major, Op.6 No.7

Crack Polish orchestra Arte dei Suonatori have won widespread critical acclaim for their performances of Vivaldi with star violinist Rachel Podger. Here they perform a specially devised programme of orchestral and instrumental works by five leading European composers, including concertos by Vivaldi and Corelli published in 1714, music from Handel's first London opera (revived that same year), and a 'sequel' to Corelliís Op.6 ingeniously fashioned in London by his pupil Geminiani. Click here to read about 'The Year 1714 (Part II)'.

'Performances that crackle with vitality.'

Tickets £35, £25, £18, £15
Buy a ticket for both concerts on 17 May and receive a voucher for a free glass of wine